Distance Education

State Authorization

State Authorization is a legal issue dealing with a college’s adherence to state requirements for colleges to secure authorization to offer instruction in that state. Compliance with individual state requirements is now part of the Higher Education Opportunity Act (HEOA) of 2008, Amended 2010. In addition, an institution’s compliance with State Authorization requirements is included in the criteria reviewed by accrediting bodies during an institution’s accreditation or re accreditation process.

HEOA § 600.9 (c)  State Authorization

If an institution is offering post-secondary education through distance or correspondence education to students in a State in which it is not physically located or in which it is otherwise subject to State jurisdiction as determined by the State, the institution must meet any State requirements for it to be legally offering postsecondary distance or correspondence education in that State. An institution must be able to document to the Secretary the State’s approval upon request.

What Rowan-Cabarrus is doing to comply with State Authorization?

While the majority of our online students live within the state of North Carolina, and we do not recruit from nor market to outside states, we are complying with the Federal Requirements by monitoring incoming applications for out of state students who may wish to register for courses. Once the Registrar identifies the student(s), communication will begin towards seeking State Authorization for the particular state of residency. Further, we are in the process of applying for the Southern Regional Electronic Board – Electronic Campus (SREB-EC) which has an established reciprocity agreement with the following member states: South Carolina, Virginia, Georgia, Tennessee, Maryland, Delaware, Louisiana, Kentucky, Mississippi, Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas and West Virginia. Once we complete the application process, as long as physical presence rules are not triggered, Rowan-Cabarrus will be exempt from the requirement to apply for authorization to the states who participate in the SREB’s Electronic Campus Regional Reciprocity Agreement (SECRRA).

Below are states and U.S. territories from which Rowan-Cabarrus has obtained State Authorization or qualifies for an exemption. If you reside in a state or territory not listed below, please note that RCCC may accept your application for enrollment, but cannot process course registrations until the appropriate authorization or exemption has been obtained.

Authorized or Exempted States
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
    • This institution is authorized by:
      The Indiana Board for Proprietary Education
      101 W. Ohio St., Suite 670
      Indianapolis, IN 46204-1984
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • Nebraska
  • Hew Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • Nevada
  • Ohio
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Vermont
  • Wisconsin
Authorized or Exempted U.S. Territories
  • American Samoa